About ISGC

About The International Society of Gastroenterological Carcinogenesis (ISGC)

The International Society of Gastroenterological Carcinogenesis (ISGC) was founded as a result of the First International Conference on Gastroenterological Carcinogenesis held in Hiroshima, Japan in 1996.

The purpose of the International Society of Gastroenterological Carcinogenesis (ISGC) is to encourage and develop research and communication in the areas of gastroenterological biology and oncology research in both basic and clinical aspects through meetings and publications.
This is to avoid looking at the genesis and progression of gastroenterological cancer within the bounds of individual organs (i.e. as stomach or colon cancer, etc.) The society instead encourages researchers to form an overall picture of gastrointestinal cancers as diseases that develop in the same individual. Our goal is to provide the information for the diagnosis, treatment and prevention of cancer.

The Second Conference was held in Ulm, Germany in March of 1999 with great success.

The third conference was in Sapporo, 2004.
The 4th conference in Hawaii, 2006.
The 5th conference in Oxford, 2008.
The 6th conference in Houston, 2011.
The 7th conference in Pennsylvania, 2013.
The 8th conference in Fukuoka, 2014.
The 9th conference in Kumamoto, 2017.


President Hideo Baba (Professor, Department of Gastroenterological Surgery, Graduate School of Medical Sciences, Kumamoto University)
President Elect
Past President Yoshihiko Maehara (Director, Kyushu Central Hospital of the Mutual Aid Association of Public School Teachers)
Secretary General Mitsuo Shimada (Professor, Department of Digestive Surgery and Transplantation Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences Tokushima University Faculty of Medicine)


Treasurer Sachiyo Nomura (Gastrointestinal Surgery, Metabolic Care and Endocrine Surgery, Graduate School of Medicine, University of Tokyo, Japan)


James L. Abbruzzese (Professor and Chair Department of GI Medical Oncology MD Anderson Houston, Texas.
The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, USA)
Nadir Arber (Professor of Medicine and Gastroenterology, Yechiel and Helen Lieber Professor for cancer Research, Israel)
Andrew J. Dannenberg (New York Presbyterian Hospital, Cornell Univ, USA)
Lee M. Ellis (Professor of Surgery Department of Cancer Biology MD Anderson Houston, Texas.
The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, USA)
Helmut E. Gabbert (Heinrich-Heine-University, Germany)
James R. Goldenring (Vanderbilt University, School of Medicine Department of Surgery, Epithelial Biology, USA)
Stephen B. Gruber (Professor in Internal Medicine Epidemiology and Human Genetics University of Michigan, USA)
Takanori Hattori (Director of Academic Affairs and Vice President)
Stanley R. Hamilton (UT M.D. Anderson Cancer Cente, USA)
Curtis C. Harris (National Cancer Institute, USA)
Okio Hino (Juntendo University, School of Medicine Department of Pathology, Japan)
Kousei Hirakawa (Osaka City University, Japan)
Kohzoh Imai (President, Sapporo Medical University, Japan)
Hisao Ito (Vice-President Tottori University, School of Medicine, Japan)
Michio Kaminishi (Director, Showa General Hospital, Japan)
Masaki Mori (Professor, Department of Gastroenterological Surgery, Graduatechool of Medicine, Japan)
Abraham M.Y.Nomura (University of Hawaii Epidemiology Program Cancer Research Center, USA)
Emad El-Omar (Professor of Gastroenterology and Honorary Consultant Physician Division of Applied Medicine School of Medicine & Dentistry University of Aberdeen, UK)
Jae-Gahb Park (Seoul National University College of Medicine Professor of Surgery, Korea)
Richard Peek Jr. (Director, Gastroenterology, Hepatology & Nutrition Professor of Medicine,
Professor of Cancer Biology Vanderbilt University Medical Center, USA)
Brian J. Reid (Professor Adjunct Professor, Department of Genetics, University of Washington
Member, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, USA)
Joseph Sun (Immunology, Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center, USA)
Zongtang Sun (National Laboratory of Molecular Oncology Professor of Immunology, Cancer Institute, China)
Masae Tatematsu (Aichi Cancer Center Research Institute, Japan)
Snorri S. Thorgeirsson (Laboratory of Experimental Carcinogenesis
Head, Cellular and Molecular Biology Section Laboratory Chief, USA)
Toshikazu Ushijima (National Cancer Center Research Institute Division of Carcinogenesis, Japan)
Xin W. Wang (National Cancer Institute Lab of Human Carcinogenesis, USA)
Timothy C. Wang (Dorothy L. and Daniel H. Silberberg Professor of Medicine Columbia University, College of Physicians & Surgeons Irving Cancer Research Center, USA)
Mary Kay Washington (Professor of Pathology Director,Gastrointestinal and Hepatic Pathology, VICC Member Vanderbilt University Medical Center, UAS)
Christian Wittekind (University of Leipizig, Institute of Pathology, Germany)
Benjaminn C.Y. Wong (Specialist in Gastroenterology and Hepatology
University of Hong Kong Department of Medicine Queen Mary Hospital, China)
Sir Nicholas Wright (Warden Bart's and the London School of Medicine and Dentistry, UK)
Hang Kwan Yang (Department of Surgery, Seoul National University Hospital, Korea)
Vincent W. Yang (Emory University School of Medicine Division of Digestive Diseases Winship Cancer Institute, USA)
Wataru Yasui (Hiroshima University, Graduate School of Biomedical Science. Department of Molecular Pathology, Japan)
Kazuhiro Yoshida (Professor Department of Surgical Oncology, Gifu University Graduate School of Medicine, Japan)
Graeme P. Young (Flinders Centre for Innovation in Cancer Department of Gastroenterology, Australia)

Nominating Committee

Curtis C. Harris
Stephen B. Gruber
Eiichi Tahara